full-dateMP3 version .ZIP size 1866 mb. | FLAC version .ZIP size 1647 mb.
Electronic, Rock

Tortoise - TNT

Tortoise - TNT

Performer: Tortoise
Album Title: TNT
Label: Thrill Jockey ‎– THRILL 050
Type: 2 x Vinyl, LP, Album, Reissue
Country: US
Date of released: 22 Jan 2016
Category: Electronic, Rock
Style: Post Rock
Rating: 4.0
Votes: 249

Free Download links

Tortoise - TNT
FLAC version .ZIP archive

1866 downloads at 17 mb/s
Tortoise - TNT
MP3 version .ZIP archive

1647 downloads at 13 mb/s


A1 TNT 7:33
A2 Swung From The Gutters 5:52
A3 Ten-Day Interval 4:44
B1 I Set My Face To The Hillside 6:08
B2 The Equator 3:42
B3 A Simple Way To Go Faster Than Light That Does Not Work 3:33
C1 The Suspension Bridge At Iguazú Falls 5:38
C2 Four-Day Interval 4:45
C3 In Sarah, Mencken, Christ, And Beethoven There Where Women And Men 7:29
D1 Almost Always Is Nearly Enough 2:42
D2 Jetty 8:21
D3 Everglade 4:21

Companies, etc.

  • Copyright (c) – Tortoise
  • Phonographic Copyright (p) – Thrill Jockey
  • Published By – Onions Wrapped In Rubber Music
  • Recorded At – SOMA Electronic Music Studios
  • Mixed At – SOMA Electronic Music Studios
  • Recorded At – Idful Music
  • Mastered At – SAE Mastering
  • Made By – Americ Disc


  • Bassoon – Caitlin Horsmon
  • Cello – Popahna Brandes
  • Composed By, Performer – Tortoise
  • Cornet – Rob Mazurek
  • Design [Sleeve] – Tortoise
  • Layout [Assistance] – Sheila Sachs
  • Mastered By – Roger Seibel
  • Performer [Tortoise Is] – Dan Bitney, David Pajo, Douglas McCombs, Jeff Parker, John Herndon, John McEntire
  • Programmed By [Additional Programming] – Dan Bitney, John Herndon
  • Recorded By, Edited By, Mixed By – John McEntire
  • Trombone – Sara P. Smith
  • Violin – Julie Liu


2016 2xLP Black version packaged in a tip-on gatefold jacket with spot UV printing and free download card

Tortoise's third full-length release, TNT, was written and recorded during a 10-month interval in 1997. This longer-than-usual writing/production schedule was purposefully undertaken by the group in the hopes of crafting an expansive, diverse, yet thematically coherent offering. Clocking in at 65 minutes, TNT builds upon the spare, instrumental framework of the group's first, self-titled album, and the extended edits, melodic adventures, and klangfarben of the subsequent full-length release, Millions Now Living Will Never Die. Further to this, Tortoise's interest in the possibilities offered by the remixing of tracks was realized within the actual production of TNT; individual elements, sections, or sometimes whole compositions mutate within the album's shifting framework. These techniques were suitably realized thanks in part to the use of non-linear digital recording and editing methods, the first example of such work for the group. In addition, many of the arrangements push the group's standard instrumentation into new territories with the inclusion of strings, woodwinds, and brass. The permanent addition of guitarist Jeff Parker (New Horizons ensemble, Chicago Underground Orchestra, Isotope 217) to the group's lineup should be noted; his unique contributions can be felt throughout the album.

Tortoise's long-standing interest in electronic and computer music is revealed during the unbroken suite of tracks beginning with "In Sarah, Mencken, Christ, and Beethoven There Were Women And Men," and ending with "Jetty." Yet TNT remains very much a record produced by a group of musicians who enjoy presenting their material in a live context. To this end, the axis of drums-basses-guitars-keyb oards-mallets-percussion continues to provide both the backdrop and the inspiration for points of departure in style and sound.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (barcode back lower right ): 790377-005011
  • Matrix / Runout: (Side A etched): THRILL-050A 1960.1 STAMPED: SAE MASTERING
  • Matrix / Runout: (Side B etched): THRILL-050B 1960.2 STAMPED: SAE MASTERING

Other versions

Category Artist Title (Format) Label Category Country Year
THRILL 050 Tortoise TNT ‎(HDCD, Album) Thrill Jockey THRILL 050 US 1998
08705 - 2, 845475 2 Tortoise TNT ‎(HDCD, Album) City Slang, Virgin 08705 - 2, 845475 2 UK 1998
THRILL-JP 13, HEADZ 22 Tortoise TNT ‎(CD, Album, RE) Thrill Jockey, Headz THRILL-JP 13, HEADZ 22 Japan 2004
08705-2 Tortoise TNT ‎(HDCD, Album) City Slang 08705-2 UK 1998
THRILL 050 Tortoise TNT ‎(HDCD, Album) Thrill Jockey THRILL 050 US Unknown


Warning! Your ISP is tracking you!
Your IP Address is easy to track!   NEVER download anything without hiding your IP with a VPN.

2007-2018 © iciap2007.org